Conquering Your Fears

Uncategorized

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline 2 Tim 1:7

I absolutely love the caption in this picture “fear is a liar” because it sums up my thoughts about fear so well.

As a single mother, I have experienced fear in many different shapes, form and fashion.  If you are a single mother reading this, I am sure that you can relate.

Life is hard all by itself and being a single mother just adds fuel to the fire.  We worry about everything from being alone for the rest of our lives, having the money to provide for our children, conflicts with the father of our children, being a good mother, etc.  The list goes on and on and on!

As I sat and thought about what I could say to encourage you on today, I was reminded of my personal journey with overcoming fear.  The scripture that I referenced above is one that I quote to myself very often.

The word of  God reminds us that anytime we experience fear or anxiety, it is not of God.  In other words, “fear is a liar.”  It comes to paralyze you and to hinder you from living the life that God has ordained for you and your children.

One thing that I do know in a world full of uncertainty is that God provides for His children.  He still makes a way out of no way and this is true for everyone who trusts in Him, including single mothers.

So what am I trying to say?  What I want you to know on today is that you do not have to fear.  You may not have everything figured out, but you can begin to trust in the one who knows the end from the beginning.

The next time fear rears his ugly head in your direction, open up your mouth and declare, “fear, you are a liar.”  I choose to trust God!  Believe me, it works like a charm.  You will begin to empower yourself to accomplish your goals and live the abundant life that God has in store for you and your family.

If you have been encouraged and inspired by reading this, please leave your comments because what you have to say just might inspire someone else.

Inspiring You Forward,

Dr. Erica D. Wyatt

Leave a Reply

